Ferguson.

I just wanted to write about this because I think it’s important. I wanted to write about that young man that very tragically lost his life. I wanted to right about the misrepresentation of justice shown by the authorities in that area. I wanted to write about the parents of Mike Brown. I wanted to write about how they must feel to know that the death of their son has caused so much unrest. How does it feel to know that their son’s death will be forever know as either a catalyst for a social awakening, or the last straw drawn before a great regional duress? Or maybe both? I wanted to write about how tired I am of people hating people just because of their skin color or belief preference. I wanted to tell you how much I hated that. I wanted to remind you of the sacrifices many great Americans such as Dr. King, John Kennedy, Maya Angelou, Abraham Lincoln made for a free America. An equal America. A thriving America. I wanted to write about the officers of that police department. How unfair it must be to put your life on the line day in and day out, but never get thanked for it. I wanted to inform people that not all police officers are bad. I wanted to write about how pointing the finger at local authorities won’t amount to anything but more unrest. I wanted to advise we hold the officers responsible accountable for their actions but not demonize all law enforcement in the area.I wanted to ask how far could gratitude take us in place of frustration? I wanted to write about the officer that shot down that young man. What happened? How could you be filled with so much fear? So much anger, so much ignorance that you would rob this boy of his future? I wanted to write about how this sort of situation is not limited to Ferguson it could happen anywhere. I wanted to write about the horrors of the US vs. THEM mentality. I wanted to tell my younger black brothers that we must not embellish the notion of vengeance, and retribution, but embrace the system of due process and trust justice will prevail in light of social awareness and peaceable unity. I wanted to write about how easily conquerable prejudice is…. I wanted to write about all these things that have filled my heart, but I just simply can’t seem to find the words.

My prayers are with the family of Mike Brown.

Leave a Reply

