Zip-It

Image

I talk way too much, I just realized that yesterday. I talk myself out of things, and sometimes I talk myself into things. I just love talking. I like hearing myself talk because I think I sound pretty smart. Even when I have no idea what I’m talking about, guess what I do? That’s right I keep talking. I think a lot of people in this world are like me they suffer from OET (over excessive talking). You know as I get older I’m realizing that the solutions to some of my life’s hardest trials do not come from talking, they come from listening. I find myself now and days saying this a lot; “if only I’d have listen to my dad,” or “I should’ve listened to my pastor.” I don’t want to be that guy anymore. Somewhere I read (it was probably a tweet) that listening is hearing someone without having the intention of responding. I know I’m so guilty of hearing people and thinking of clever or insightful remarks I could make. That’s a real jerk move on my part, but could you imagine what life would look like if we all just listened for the sake of wanting to be better people? Think about how much deeper and stronger our love would get if we really were in touch with other people? Think about it.

Leave a Reply

